# ABOUT THE COUNCIL

## COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

#### **OUR VISION**

Urban public schools exist to teach students to the highest standards of educational excellence. As the primary American institution responsible for weaving the strands of our society into a cohesive fabric, we — the leaders of America's Great City Schools — see a future where the nation cares for all children, expects their best, appreciates their diversity, invests in their futures, and welcomes their participation in the American dream.

The Great City Schools are places where this vision becomes tangible and those ideals are put to the test. We pledge to commit ourselves to the work of advancing empathy, equity, justice, and tolerance, and we vow to do everything we can to vigorously resist the forces of ignorance, fear, and prejudice, as we teach and guide our students. We will keep our commitments, and as we do and as society supports our endeavors, cities will become the centers of a strong and equitable nation, with urban public schools successfully teaching our children and building our communities.

#### **OUR MISSION**

It is the special mission of America's urban public schools to educate the nation's most diverse student body to the highest academic standards and prepare them to contribute to our democracy and the global community.

#### **OUR GOALS**

To educate all urban school students to the highest academic standards.

To lead, govern and manage our urban public schools in ways that advance the education of our children and inspire the public's confidence.

To build a confident, committed and supportive urban community for raising the achievement of urban public schoolchildren.

## COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

## **Executive Committee**

#### 2025-2026

#### **OFFICERS**

Chair of the Board: Sonja Santelises, Baltimore CEO

Chair-Elect: Valerie Davis, Fresno School Board

Secretary/Treasurer: Jill Baker, Long Beach Superintendent

Immediate Past-Chair: Marcia Andrews, Palm Beach County School Board

#### **MEMBERS**

Sabrina Bazzo, San Diego School Board Margo Bellamy, Anchorage School Board Brandon Craig, Cincinnati School Board Sara Elaqad, Cleveland School Board Stephanie Elizalde, Dallas Superintendent Lewis Ferebee, District of Columbia Chancellor Joe Gothard, Madison Superintendent Shavonna Holman, Omaha School Board Aleesia Johnson, Indianapolis Superintendent Deanna Kaplan, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School Board Roger León, Newark Superintendent Alex Marrero, Denver Superintendent Christina Martinez, San Antonio School Board Matias Segura, Austin Superintendent Mary Skipper, Boston Superintendent Joyce Wilkerson, Philadelphia School Board Darryl Willie, Duval County School Board Stacey Woolley, Tulsa School Board Vacancy Vacancy

Ex Officio

Deborah Shanley, Brooklyn College School of Education Sharon Contreras, North Carolina Central University

## COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS Board of Directors (July 2025)

CITY	SUPERINTENDENTS	BOARD MEMBERS
Albuquerque	Gabriella Blakey	Courtney Jackson
Anchorage	Jharrett Bryantt	Margo Bellamy
Arlington	Matt Smith	Justin Chapa
Atlanta	Bryan Johnson	Erika Mitchell
Aurora	Michael Giles	Anne Keke
Austin	Matias Segura	David Kauffman
Baltimore	Sonja Santelises	Khalilah Slater Harrington
Birmingham	Mark Sullivan	Jason Meadows
Boston	Mary Skipper	Michael O'Neill
Bridgeport	Royce Avery	Christine Baptiste-Perez
Broward County	Howard Hepburn	Allen Zeman
Buffalo	Will Keresztes	Sharon Belton-Cottman
Charleston	Anita Huggins	Keith Grybowski
Charlotte-Mecklenburg	Crystal Hill	Stephanie Sneed
Chicago	Macquline King	Jessica Biggs
Cincinnati	Shauna Murphy	Brandon Craig
Clark County	Jhone Ebert	Irene Bustamante Adams
Cleveland	Warren Morgan	Sara Elagad
Columbus	Angela Chapman	Michael Cole
Dallas	Stephanie Elizalde	Sarah Weinberg
	David Lawrence	Chrisondra Goodwine
Dayton Denver	Alex Marrero	Carrie Olson
Des Moines	Ian Roberts	Kimberly Martorano
Detroit Detroit	Nikolai Vitti	•
District of Columbia	Lewis Ferebee	Angelique Peterson-Mayberry N/A
Durham	Anthony Lewis	Bettina Umstead
Duval County	Christopher Bernier	Darryl Willie
East Baton Rouge	LaMont Cole	Shashonnie Steward
El Paso	Martha Aguirre	TBD
Fayette County	Demetrus Liggins	Tyler Murphy
Fort Worth	Karen Molinar	Camille Rodriguez
Fresno	Misty Her	Valerie Davis
Guilford County	Whitney Oakley	Bettye Jenkins
Hawaii Department of Education	Keith Hayashi	Ken Kuraya
Hillsborough County	Van Ayres	Jessica Vaughn
Houston	Mike Miles	Rolando Martinez
Indianapolis	Aleesia Johnson	Allissa Impink
Jackson	Errick Greene	Barbara Hilliard
Jefferson County	Brian Yearwood	
•	Norma Fernandez	Gail Logan Strange Noemi Velazquez
Jersey City Kansas City	Jennifer Collier	TBD
Little Rock		
	Jermall Wright Jill Baker	Joyce Walker Wesley
Long Beach	Alberto Carvalho	Douglas Otto Kelly Gonez
Los Angeles		
Madison	Joe Gothard	Nichelle Nichols
Memphis-Shelby County	Roderick Richmond	TBD
Miami-Dade County	José Dotres	Steve Gallon III
Milwaukee	Brenda Cassellius	Marva Herndon
Minneapolis	Lisa Sayles-Adams	Sharon El-Amin
Nashville	Adrienne Battle	Berthena Nabaa-McKinney

New OrleansFateama FulmoreOlin ParkerNew York CityMelissa Aviles-RamosN/A

Newark Roger León Hasani Council Norfolk James Pohl Tanya Bhasin Oakland Denise Saddler Jennifer Brouhard Oklahoma City Jamie Polk Paula Lewis Shavonna Holman Omaha Matthew Ray **Orange County** Maria Vazquez Teresa Jacobs Palm Beach County Mike Burke Marcia Andrews Philadelphia Tony Watlington Joyce Wilkerson Phoenix Union Thea Andrade Ceyshe Napa Lisa Cane Pinellas County Kevin Hendrick Wayne Walters Gene Walker Pittsburgh Portland Kimberlee Armstrong Michelle DePass Providence Javier Montañez Ty'Relle Stephens

Puerto Rico Eliezer Ramos Parés N/A

Catty Moore

Winston-Salem/Forsyth County

Richmond Jason Kamras Stephanie Rizzi
Rochester Eric Jay Rosser Camille Simmons
Sacramento Lisa Allen Taylor Kayatta
St. Louis Millicent Borishade Karen Collins-Adams

St. Paul Stacie Stanley Jim Vue Christina Martinez San Antonio Jaime Aquino Fabiola Bagula San Diego Sabrina Bazzo San Francisco Maria Su Supriya Ray Santa Ana Lorraine Perez Alfonso Alvarez Seattle **Brent Jones** Sarah Clark Bob Vasquez Toledo Romules Durant Stacey Woolley Tulsa Ebony Johnson Elizabeth Smith Washoe County Joe Ernst Wichita Kelly Bielefeld Hazel Stabler

Deanna Kaplan

5

## COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

### Staff

Raymond Hart, Executive Director Michael Casserly, Strategic Advisor Teri Trinidad, Director of Administration, Finance & Conferences Alisa Adams, Finance Manager Marilyn Banks, Administrative Assistant Michell Yorkman, Manager of Conferences and Partnerships Alexis Vann, Manager of Conferences Gregory Bacon, Administrative and Conference Specialist Olivia Shaw, Operations Administrative Specialist Manish Naik, Director of Legislation Mary Stablein Lawson, General Counsel David Chi-Wai Lai, Director of ELL Policy & Research Delina Phicadu, English Learners Policy Summer Fellow Alka Pateriya, Director of Strategy and Partnerships Delisa Nuñez, Partnership Specialist Tonya Harris, Director of Communications Joanne Coley, Communications Manager Kalin Hicks, Communications Specialist Akisha Osei Sarfo, Director of Research Chester Holland, Research Manager Brian Garcia, Research Manager Eric Vignola, Manager of Software Engineering Nicole Mancini, Chief of Academics Denise Walston, Chief of Curriculum Robin Hall, Chief of Schools Willie Burroughs, Director of Management Services Robert Carlson, Senior Advisor for Management Services AJ Crabill, Director of Governance Cindy Elsbernd, Governance Manager Michael Hinojosa, Superintendent in Residence Amanda Corcoran, Special Projects Manager